office (763) 241-1170 Ext. 4
fax (763) 635-0037
Contact Us

Sherburne County Soil & Water Conservation District

About Sherburne SWCD

The Sherburne Soil & Water Conservation District is a sub-division of the state and operates under a charter issued by the Secretary of State. A five-member board of supervisors governs the District. The board members are elected by voters throughout the county to serve a four-year term.

Local farmers organized the Sherburne County Soil Conservation District in 1944 under the provisions of the Minnesota Soil Conservation District Law. The district was originally formed to combat the soil erosion and effects of the Dust Bowl. In 1962 the Board of Supervisors changed its official name to The Sherburne Soil & Water Conservation District.

The SWCD works cooperatively with private landowners on soil and water related resource projects, such as, field windbreaks, nutrient management planning, pasture management, administration of the Wetland Conservation Act, the County Water Plan, tree sales, cost share programs, fish and wildlife habitat improvement, stream and lakeshore protection, the soil survey, and the Anoka Sand Plain Plant Materials and Demonstration Project.

The District also works cooperatively with the Natural Resources Conservation Service, the Farm Service Agency, the MN Department of Natural Resources, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the County Zoning Department, the U of M Extension Service, and Pheasants

Contact Us



Sherburne Soil & Water Conservation District

14855 Highway 10 Elk River, MN  55330

Tel (763) 241-1170 Ext. 4
Fax (763) 635-0037